The following attendance policy will apply to all students. Attendance will be taken at 8:00 a.m. on class days. All students will be recorded as present (P) or absent (A). Should a student marked as absent arrive for class after roll call, the absent (A) mark will be changed to tardy (T). A student with three or more unexcused tardies may be dropped from the program.
Due to the intense and brief nature of the program, absences will not be excused and will cause a student to be dropped from the program. Make-up work shall not be accepted for the purpose of removing an absence. Should the school Director determine that a student dropped for unexcused tardies or absence will benefit from repeating the course during a future session, the student will be permitted to do so at no additional charge; however, students terminated for excessive tardies or absence will not be readmitted until a minimum of one grading period has passed.
Should a student voluntarily withdraw from the program, the student will be eligible for re-entry at the beginning of the next school term. The class roll book will be the official, permanent attendance record for the school.
The Texas Auction Academy requires a High School diploma or GED. Applicants must submit a copy of their High School Diploma or GED, or a copy of their High School or College transcript with the enrollment application.
AGE REQUIREMENTS: The minimum age requirement for the Texas Auction Academy is 18 years of age. EXCEPTIONS: Students under the age of 18 who wish to attend the Texas Auction Academy must have completed high school or GED and have written permission from their parents or legal guardian to attend and may be required to be accompanied.
In the event that these educational requirements are not met by a prospective student who wishes to attend the Texas Auction Academy, we will offer admissions testing. Prospective students must score at least 18 on the Wonderlic Basic Skills Test. Please contact the Texas Auction Academy office at (972) 387-4200 for details on admissions testing. *Please note that Wonderlic testing is only applicable to admittance of a prospective student to attend the (83) hour General Basic Auctioneering course administered by the Texas Auction Academy and does not meet the requirements of eligibility for licensing in the State of Texas or other license law states and/or countries.
In addition to these requirements, all students should have the ability to speak English fluently and have a basic comprehension of reading, writing and mathematics in order to understand the material provided and to benefit fully from the program. Any individual who meets these requirements and has ordinary ability can complete the course and become an auctioneer and/or an auction sale manager.
Attending the Texas Auction Academy does not exempt any student from meeting the minimum requirements of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation as set forth below or any other state or country’s requirements to obtain an auctioneers license.
In order to obtain an auctioneer’s license in the State of Texas, you must meet the following requirements of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation:
• Be at least 18 years of age;
• Be a citizen of the United States or a legal alien;
• Hold a high school diploma or a high school equivalency certificate;
• Not have been convicted of a felony within five years of the application date;
• Have completed 80 hours of classroom instruction at an Auction school approved by TDLR; and
• Pass an Auctioneer licensing examination.
This course is additionally approved in most all other license law states. Out of state and international students must meet the minimum requirement(s) as set forth by their state or country of residency to receive an auctioneer license. It is the responsibility of the prospective student to contact the auctioneer licensing agency in their state or country for licensing requirements before enrolling in the Texas Auction Academy.
EQUAL OPPORTUNITY SCHOOL: The Texas Auction Academy complies with all provisions of the civil rights act. No person will be excluded from participation, denied any benefits, or subjected to any form of discrimination because of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, or handicap.
The minimum age requirement for the Texas Auction Academy is 18 years of age.
EXCEPTIONS: Students under the age of 18 who wish to attend the Texas Auction Academy must have completed high school or GED, or score at least 18 on the Wonderlic Basic Skills Test. Students under the age of 18 are required to have written permission from their parents or legal guardian to attend the Texas Auction Academy and may be required to be accompanied.
If you fall under these exceptions, please contact the office of the Texas Auction Academy at (972) 387-4200 for admissions processing.
Equal Opportunity School
The Texas Auction Academy complies with all provisions of the civil rights act. No person will be excluded from participation, denied any benefits, or subjected to any form of discrimination because of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, or handicap.
Rules, Regulations, Student Conduct
The Texas Auction Academy expects the highest standards of personal conduct by all students. Insubordination to instructors or administration will be cause for termination. Students are expected to be courteous and well mannered at all times. Students will respect personal and school property at all times. Use or possession of illegal substances is grounds for termination. Cheating, alcohol abuse, drug abuse, or any behavior that restricts the learning process of others will be considered serious misconduct and is cause for termination.
A student in violation due to serious misconduct will be terminated from the school. Students who are terminated from the school for serious misconduct and/or failure to comply with school rules and regulations will not be considered for readmission. A student who is unable to complete the course work for reasons other than serious misconduct may re-enter the school and continue course work during an upcoming session.
Yes, it is true what they say about Texas weather; if you don’t like the weather just wait a minute and it will change! Generally speaking, Texas winters are considered mild in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area and the summer months bring hot days with warm nights. Spring and fall around North Texas are beautiful with mild days and cool nights.
Students will want to bring business attire for a couple of occasions like the class photograph. Men should bring a suit or sport coat and a tie while ladies will want to wear standard business attire. While we want you to be comfortable during your stay, it is our belief that professional auctioneers should dress accordingly, and short pants, flip flops, T-shirts and ragged jeans are prohibited in the classroom. You are permitted to wear caps and hats, but they must be removed during class.
Cancellation and Refund Policy
CANCELLATION POLICY: A full refund will be made to any student who cancels the enrollment contract within 72 hours (until midnight of the third day excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays) after the enrollment contract is signed. A full refund will also be made to any student who cancels enrollment within the student’s first three scheduled class days, except that the school may retain not more than $100 in any administrative fees charged, as well as items of extra expense that are necessary for the portion of the program attended and stated separately on the enrollment agreement.
1. Refund computations will be based on scheduled course time of class attendance through the last date of attendance. Leaves of absence, suspensions and school holidays will not be counted as part of the scheduled class attendance.
2. The effective date of termination for refund purposes will be the earliest of the following: (a) The last day of attendance, if the student is terminated by the school; (b) The date of receipt of written notice from the student; or (c) Ten school days following the last date of attendance.
3. If tuition and fees are collected in advance of entrance, and if after expiration of the 72 hour cancellation privilege the student does not enter school, not more than $100 in any administrative fees charged shall be retained by the school for the entire residence program or synchronous distance education course.
4. If a student enters a residence or synchronous distance education program and withdraws or is otherwise terminated after the cancellation period, the school or college may retain not more than $100 in any administrative fees charged for the entire program. The minimum refund of the remaining tuition and fees will be the pro rata portion of tuition, fees, and other charges that the number of hours remaining in the portion of the course or program for which the student has been charged after the effective date of termination bears to the total number of hours in the portion of the course or program for which the student has been charged, except that a student may not collect a refund if the student has completed 75 percent or more of the total number of hours in the portion of the program for which the student has been charged on the effective date of termination.
5. Refunds for items of extra expense to the student, such as books, tools, or other supplies are to be handled separately from refund of tuition and other academic fees. The student will not be required to purchase instructional supplies, books and tools until such time as these materials are required. Once these materials are purchased, no refund will be made. For full refunds, the school can withhold costs for these types of items from the refund as long as they were necessary for the portion of the program attended and separately stated in the enrollment agreement. Any such items not required for the portion of the program attended must be included in the refund.
6. A student who withdraws for a reason unrelated to the student’s academic status after the 75 percent completion mark and requests a grade at the time of withdrawal shall be given a grade of “incomplete” and permitted to re-enroll in the course or program during the 12-month period following the date the student withdrew without payment of additional tuition for that portion of the course or program.
7. A full refund of all tuition and fees is due and refundable in each of the following cases: (a) An enrollee is not accepted by the school; (b) If the course of instruction is discontinued by the school and this prevents the student from completing the course; or (c) If the student’s enrollment was procured as a result of any misrepresentation in advertising, promotional materials of the school, or representations by the owner or representatives of the school. A full or partial refund may also be due in other circumstances of program deficiencies or violations of requirements for career schools and colleges.
8.REFUND POLICY FOR STUDENTS CALLED TO ACTIVE MILITARY SERVICE. A student of the school or college who withdraws from the school or college as a result of the student being called to active duty in a military service of the United States or the Texas National Guard may elect one of the following options for each program in which the student is enrolled: (a) If tuition and fees are collected in advance of the withdrawal, a pro rata refund of any tuition, fees, or other charges paid by the student for the program and a cancellation of any unpaid tuition, fees, or other charges owed by the student for the portion of the program the student does not complete following withdrawal; (b) A grade of incomplete with the designation “withdrawn-military” for the courses in the program, other than courses for which the student has previously received a grade on the student’s transcript, and the right to re-enroll in the program, or a substantially equivalent program if that program is no longer available, not later than the first anniversary of the date the student is discharged from active military duty without payment of additional tuition, fees, or other charges for the program other than any previously unpaid balance of the original tuition, fees, and charges for books for the program; or (c) The assignment of an appropriate final grade or credit for the courses in the program, but only if the instructor or instructors of the program determine that the student has: (1) satisfactorily completed at least 90 percent of the required coursework for the program; and (2) demonstrated sufficient mastery of the program material to receive credit for completing the program.
9. The payment of refunds will be totally completed such that the refund instrument has been negotiated or credited into the proper account(s), within 60 days after the effective date of termination. “In all cases, refunds will meet or exceed the requirements of TEC, §§132.061 and 132.0611 and TAC Chapter 807, Subchapter N.”
All students have the right and are encouraged to address an instructor or the school Director with any school related grievance. Should the grievance not be resolved to the student’s satisfaction, he or she may then address the school owner. Any and all unresolved grievances should then be directed to the Texas Workforce Commission, Career Schools and Colleges Section, 101 East 15th Street, Rm 226T, Austin, TX 78778-0001, 512-936-3100, www.texasworkforce.org/careerschools
NOTICE: STUDENT COMPLAINT POLICY
This school has a Certificate of Approval from the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC)
The TWC-assigned school number is S2190.
The school’s programs are approved by TWC.
Students must address their concerns about this school or any of its educational programs by following the grievance process outlined in the school’s catalog. Schools are responsible for ensuring and documenting that all students have received a copy of the school’s published catalog. If, as a student, you were not provided with this information, please inform school management.
Students dissatisfied with this school’s response to their complaint or who are not able to file a complaint with the school, can file a formal complaint with TWC, as well as with other relevant agencies or accreditors, if applicable.
Information on filing a complaint with TWC can be found on TWC’s Career Schools and Colleges Website at www.texasworkforce.org/careerschools.